Facebook Twitter Instagram
X Close

TIFT Announces Texas Triple Crown Billfish Series

South Padre Island, Texas - The Texas International Fishing Tournament Executive Board is excited to announce the tournament’s participation in the newly created Texas Triple Crown Billfish Series. T.I.F.T. will be the second stop among three Summer 2020 fishing tournaments. The first includes The Lone Star Shootout in Port O’Connor, TX, and the final, is the Texas Legends Billfish Tournament in Port Aransas, TX.

The accumulation of points from each tournament’s top 10 billfish teams will determine the Grand Champion boat, captain, and first mate, and 2nd and 3rd place winners. While it is not required to participate in each of the three tournaments, there is advantage in registering for all three, “As competitive as this is, fishing all three heightens the odds of becoming the Texas Gulf Coast champion,” states T.I.F.T. Executive Board member, Matt Klostermann.

The creation of the Texas Triple Crown Billfish Series is a collaboration ten years in the making. Klostermann credits Randy Bright, President of the Lone Star Shootout - put on by the Houston Big Game & Fishing Club - for sparking the idea; working with Captain John Cochran with Texas Legends Billfish Tournament; and, Daniel Bryant, T.I.F.T. Executive Board President in addition to Klostermann. “It’s a great thing, tying into the other two tournaments. Being a part of the triple crown is a big part of T.I.F.T.’s future,” states Klostermann.

Inspired by the East Gulf Coast Series, which includes Louisiana, Alabama, and Florida Gulf Coasts and ends in mid-July, the Texas Triple Crown provides more interest and incentive for billfish anglers to participate in the three Texas tournaments. The first tournament in the series begins after the East Gulf Coast Series ends. “We are already seeing interest in the Triple Crown Billfish Series. It fits what they [anglers] are looking for,” says Bryant. Klostermann adds, “Everything is bigger and better in Texas, including this triple crown!”

A perpetual trophy will be awarded to the Texas Grand Champion team immediately following the Texas Legends Tournament. World renowned wildlife sculptor, Kent Ullberg, will craft the Blue Marlin trophy. This remarkable trophy will travel to each tournament and be housed on year-round display at the Fisherman’s Wharf in Port Aransas, Texas.

What: Texas Triple Crown Billfish Series

When/Where: Summer 2020

  • The Lone Star Shootout, Port O’Connor, Texas, July 21 - 26, 2020 TheLoneStarShootout.com
  • Texas International Fishing Tournament, South Padre Island/Port Isabel, Texas, July 29 - Aug 2, 2020, tift.org
  • Texas Legends Billfish Tournament, Port Aransas, Texas, Aug 5 - 9, 2020; TxLegends.com
Back to
< Back
Load time (7739): 1.3503 seconds